Posted in Uncategorized

Easter 7 , John 17:20 – 26

I am in you and they are in me

John 17:20-26

20”I ask not only on behalf of these, but also on behalf of those who will believe in me through their word, 21that they may all be one. As you, Father, are in me and I am in you, may they also be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me. 22The glory that you have given me I have given them, so that they may be one, as we are one, 23I in them and you in me, that they may become completely one, so that the world may know that you have sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.

24Father, I desire that those also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory, which you have given me because you loved me before the foundation of the world. 25“Righteous Father, the world does not know you, but I know you; and these know that you have sent me. 26I made your name known to them, and I will make it known, so that the love with which you have loved me may be in them, and I in them.”

Who were the these? The assumption is of course that it was the 12 disciples and they are the ones sharing the love of Jesus to the many. Yet when we think through the Bible there were many men and women who heard the good news through Jesus and became his followers. We know in Luke that Jesus sent out seventy-two at one point in pairs to share the good news of God’s love. What  about the people he met once of whose lives were transformed that were never heard of again , the unclean leper, the woman at the well, the Roman official, the bleeding woman.  It got me to thinking about the people who help me in my faith, the ones I hear the good news through. People who remind me to be patient in God, those who remind me it is OK to be nervous and afraid but from that I have the courage to move forward in hope. If those first had not had the courage to speak we would not know. I am grateful for their courage. Thanks to them we too are in Jesus who is one with God, and that love of God which God loved Jesus is still shown to us today.. How have you felt love recently?  It may have been a while , but regardless of whether the humans around us remember how to show it, God’s love is always there for us.

I’m a bit of an irish prayer fan.. I love the image that Christ is with me, behind me and before me. If we understand Christ as love it adds another dimension.. Love be with me, Love before me, love behind me, Love in me. … As we are in Jesus so is Jesus within us.

 

Christ be with me
Christ before me
Christ behind me
Christ in me
Christ beneath me
Christ above me
Christ on my right
Christ on my left
Christ where I lie
Christ where I sit
Christ where I arise
Christ in the heart of every man
who thinks of me
Christ in the mouth of every man
who speaks of me
Christ in every eye that sees me
Christ in every ear that hears me
Salvation is of the Lord.

http://islandireland.com/Pages/folk/sets/bless.html

Leave a Reply

