Posted in Uncategorized

Pentecost 10, Luke11:1-13 ,the Lords prayer

img044

Luke 11:1-13

11He was praying in a certain place, and after he had finished, one of his disciples said to him, “Lord, teach us to pray, as John taught his disciples.” 2He said to them, “When you pray, say: Father, hallowed be your name. Your kingdom come. 3Give us each day our daily bread. 4And forgive us our sins, for we ourselves forgive everyone indebted to us. And do not bring us to the time of trial.” 5And he said to them, “Suppose one of you has a friend, and you go to him at midnight and say to him, ‘Friend, lend me three loaves of bread; 6for a friend of mine has arrived, and I have nothing to set before him.’ 7And he answers from within, ‘Do not bother me; the door has already been locked, and my children are with me in bed; I cannot get up and give you anything.’ 8I tell you, even though he will not get up and give him anything because he is his friend, at least because of his persistence he will get up and give him whatever he needs. 9“So I say to you, Ask, and it will be given you; search, and you will find; knock, and the door will be opened for you. 10For everyone who asks receives, and everyone who searches finds, and for everyone who knocks, the door will be opened. 11Is there anyone among you who, if your child asks for a fish, will give a snake instead of a fish? 12Or if the child asks for an egg, will give a scorpion? 13If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will the heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”

I chose to reflect today on Luke’s version of the Lords prayer it is shorter and has some interesting differences..  The one I noticed most significantly is that the forgiveness of others comes in the form that we already do this.

It is an interesting exercise to try nd draw something that is so intrinsic in our faith tradition.. How do you see God, or honouring God (hallowed by your name)? How do we reflect God’s kingdom, I didn’t want it to be castles because for me it was suggesting God’s vision belongs in the middle ages, whilst we might like to live in castles the majority of people don’t, nor do people we respect and choose to listen to.. The next section of the prayer for me listening to Luke are the cries of our heart.. Make sure we have enough to eat.. Even those who have too much food are still afraid of what would happen if it all ran dry and it is the reminder that for many in the world this is not the case.

And forgive us our sins, forgive those things that we have done or said, or the things we hold onto that we should let go of.. In our truthful silent spaces we know that there are times we have done things, and sometimes they are not easy to let go of.  For we ourselves forgive everyone indebted to us.. I like that here Jesus acknowledges that the people amongst him are living the Godly life and are forgiving the debt of others..Do not bring us into a time of trail.. What are the trials we are afraid of? What does that look like?  is it heartache, is it being trapped is it suffering?

I included the images and the second bit of the reading too, ask search knock and you will be given , find and it will be opened to you.. If you who don’t get it right all the time know how to give good gifts how much more will your father in heaven.. I find it interesting that it is about receiving the Holy Spirit.. Their have been times where I have had to face some really difficult situations and at those moments as I walk into those I have begged for God’s spirit to be present because I knew that I could not do this on my own.. It is comforting today to know, whether I felt it or not, that prayer was answered..

Go well.

Leave a Reply

