Posted in Uncategorized

Proper 13C / Ordinary 18C / Pentecost +11 Foolish rich man

img046.jpg

Luke 12:13-21

13Someone in the crowd said to him, “Teacher, tell my brother to divide the family inheritance with me.” 14But he said to him, “Friend, who set me to be a judge or arbitrator over you?” 15And he said to them, “Take care! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of possessions.” 16Then he told them a parable: “The land of a rich man produced abundantly. 17And he thought to himself, ‘What should I do, for I have no place to store my crops?’ 18Then he said, ‘I will do this: I will pull down my barns and build larger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods. 19And I will say to my soul, ‘Soul, you have ample goods laid up for many years; relax, eat, drink, be merry.’ 20But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life is being demanded of you. And the things you have prepared, whose will they be?’ 21So it is with those who store up treasures for themselves but are not rich toward God.”

 

I am so enjoying the challenge of drawing the reading.. Today was particularly interesting.. The questions it raised for me were twofold.. What are the things as human beings we store in our silos, things that have our never fulfilled appitite? Secondly what are the things of life that are not about the abundance of possessions?

So inside the silo is a couple of ideas of the things that can consume us with the need for more! I did find it interesting that it is not just about more but also about mine, you could easily replace the word more with mine because greed is not just about more but also a loss of hospitality or willingness to share..

What are those things  that remind us that life is about more than the gathering and storing of possessions? The beauty we find in nature, music, art, friendship, family, hospitality, community, compassion. It was interesting how many of those were about us and ours rather than mine. For Luke those things are the things that make us rich towards God, not others in general but God. When we live in this space of grateful appreciation for the everyday rather than the striving for more it is here we become rich to God..

I think that the reality of this situation is that for each of us the things that come to mind will be different.. The things I like to store up in my silo (hats actually) are not the same as yours and the things that add more to my life may not be what brings more to yours.. So this week the drawing has open spaces for you to add those things you can think of, both in and outside of the silo.. I would love to hear your ideas maybe you could share them in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

